Blog Post 4: Remix

 

For this assignment I have remixed my visual narrative. In this version I have added new photos showing concept art, character models, and movie screenshots. Over the pictures I have placed written text that depicts the facts that I wish to share with my audience. Along with the words on the screen, I have included my voice to read the words to the viewer. These facts inform the viewer about the making of the film, production, and about how this animation process differs from other animation processes. The facts also show how with each film the Disney Orlando Animation studio was making an imprint for themselves on the population of not only their local community, but globally with the works they were producing.

I introduced the innovative thinking, the new technology, and the creative processes that went into each film created. Also, I have went though twitter to find tweets about the films that I am analyzing to see how they have impacted the general population. I have allowed this part to have no audio so that the viewer can form their own opinion on the films. I do not want my voice inflections to frame their view on the films.

Additionally, I have incorporated memorable clips from the mentioned motion pictures. I have managed to find clips that were either shared by the Disney Company, or I asked for permission to use them from the original source. Beside the clips I also have an audio portion of the overall narrative that has been altered since the last posting. The audio can be found as an undercurrent while I am talking, and while the facts are being presented. For the over arching theme of my video, I am planning on keeping my video in chronological order. This will help show how the animation studios help shape the Orlando culture, but then how their removal caused a chain reaction of changes to occur.

Besides just showing how animation has changed I also showed how the animation films inspired events and buildings inside of the park. Based on the Fantasia film Disney decided to start the famous nighttime show ‘Fantasmic’ at MGM. This nighttime spectacular is still running to this day. Another inspiration from Fantasia was Mickey’s monumental Sorcerer’s Apprentice Hat that stood in the heart of MGM. However, following the removal of the animation studios and the parks name change: the hat stood for only a short while thereafter. To this day Mickey’s Sorcerer’s Apprentice Hat still is one of the most memorable icons of the Studios.

Documentary Works Cited

 

Leave a comment